Entries to the Open and Youth competitions of the 2014 Sony World Photography Awards will close on 6 January, followed by the deadline for the Professional competition on 9 January.

The awards are split into four sections: Open, Youth, Professional and Student Focus. Photographers can enter up to three photographs free of charge and entries may be  submitted into one category or spread across multiple categories.  Full details and entry forms can be found at http://www.worldphoto.org/competitions/.
The 2014 Honorary Judging Committee will be chaired by William Hunt, photography consultant based in New York, who will once again also host the annual awards gala on 30 April, 2014.   The full panel comprises of photography professionals from the World Photographic Academy including: Ruth Eichhorn, Director of Photography, Geo Magazine (Germany); Johanna Neurath, Design Director for Thames & Hudson publishing (UK); Isbaella Icoz, Curator (Turkey); Guy Harrington, Director, Soho Management (UK); Matthew Pillsbury, Photographer (US); Harry Hardie, Panos Pictures/ HERE Press (UK); Suzy Koo, Creative Media Manager, Burberry (UK); Poorna Bell, Lifestyle Editor, Huffington Post and Simon Barnett, Director of Photography, CNN Digital.