Winners of this year’s Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photography Awards, which recognise the country’s top professional photographers, were announced overnight.


Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year 2014 – James Simmons

The Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photography Awards are open to all Australian and overseas professional photographers and represent the best of the best professional photography in Australia. Entries are judged by panels of professional photographers in sub-categories covering: Commercial, Illustrative, Portrait, Wedding, Science, Environment & Nature, Landscape and an Open Award. One portfolio is named as the overall winners.

Wedding photographer James Simmons was named as the winner of the coveted Canon AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year 2014 award for a portfolio of four images. James shoots with a Canon EOS-1D X and uses the EF 16-35mm f/2.8L II USM,  EF 35mm f/1.4L USM  and EF 50mm f/1.4 USM lenses. Other winners include:
 2014 AIPP Australian Advertising Photographer of the Year ““ Matthew Everingham
 2014 AIPP Australian Birth Photographer of the Year ““ Victoria Berekmeri
 2014 AIPP Australian Fashion Photographer of the Year ““ Peter Coulson
 2014 AIPP Australian Commercial Photographer of the Year ““ Aran Anderson
 2014 AIPP Australian Sport Photographer of the Year ““ Matt Palmer
 2014 AIPP Australian Travel Photographer of the Year ““ Nick Rains
 2014 AIPP Australian Landscape Photographer of the Year ““ Ricardo Da Cunha
 2014 AIPP Australian Science Environment & Nature Photographer of the Year ““ Joshua Holko
 2014 AIPP Australian Documentary Photographer of the Year ““ Anthony McKee
 2014 AIPP Australian Illustrative Photographer of the Year ““ Keren Dobia
 2014 AIPP Australian Portrait Photographer of the Year ““ Peter Rossi
 2014 AIPP Australian Family Photographer of the Year ““ Kelly Brown
 2014 AIPP Australian Wedding Photographer of the Year ““ James Simmons
 2014 AIPP Australian Creative Photographer of the Year ““ Kirsten Graham
 2014 AIPP Australian Student Photographer Of The Year ““ Jacqui Hogan
 2014 AIPP Australian Emerging Photographer Of The Year ““ Adam Williams
 2014 AIPP International Photographer Of The Year ““ Luke Edmonson
 2014 AIPP Australian Tertiary Photography Institution Of The Year ““ Photography Studies College – Melbourne
 2014 Australian Highest Scoring Image Award ““ Kelly Gerdes
 2014 AIPP Australian Album of the Year Award ““ Nadine Saacks
 2014 AIPP Australian Photography Book Award ““ Peter Eastway

In their 38th year, the Canon AIPP APPAs offer a grand prize of $10,000 and category prizes of $1,000 cash.The Canon AIPP APPA winners’ gallery can be seen at