New Zealand photographer, John Ford, has been named as the Grand Prize Winner of the 2017 Sony Alpha Awards.


The Grand Prize winning photograph in the 2017 Sony Alpha Awards by photographer, John Ford of Rotorua, New Zealand. © John Ford.

Celebrating their second year, the awards showcase the best of Australian and New Zealand photography shot using a Sony Alpha camera. This year the awards received more than 1500 entries from professional and amateur photographers across eight categories. The category winners and runners-up for the 2017 Sony Alpha Awards were:

Abstract: Winner- Pat Kay from Rhodes, NSW
Runners-up – Helen Woodford and Graham Dainty

Editorial: James Wilson from Camperdown, NSW
Runners-up – Craig Jeffries and Tom Healy

Landscape: Andy Yee Qn from Panania, NSW
Runners-up – Mike Hobbert and Josh Leahy

Macro: Sam Rowley from Bowral NSW
Runners-up – Nick Papadopoulos and Anne Baker

Nature: John Ford from Rotorua, New Zealand
Runners-up – Alessandro Bonora and Madsen Talman

Portrait: Adam Kent from Stanhope Gardens, NSW
Runners-up – Catherine McLachlan and Thomas Su

Sport: Noel Brady from Kings Beach, Queensland
Runners-up – Mark Clark and Jonathon DCecco

Youth: Jack McKee from Newport, Queensland, who attends Grace Lutheran College,  Rothwell
Runner-up – Will Wardle

The Grand Prize winner received an overseas trip for the winner and a guest, plus $3,000 of Sony gear. Each Category Prize Winner received $2,000 of Sony gear.

The 2017 Sony Alpha Awards also marked the launch of the Sony a9 full-frame mirrorless E-mount camera and the announcement of Tyson Mayr as Sony’s newest Digital Imaging Ambassador.