A list of finalists for the 2023 National Photographic Portrait Prize has been released by the National Portrait Gallery..

‘Silent Strength’by Wayne Quilliam, winner of the National Photographic Portrait Prize in 2022.
© Wayne Quilliam.

Established by the National Portrait Gallery to support and celebrate photographic portraiture in Australia, the National Photographic Portrait Prize was first awarded in 2007 and is now a highlight of the National Portrait Gallery’s annual calendar. The 2023 winner of the NPPP will take home up to $50,000 in prizes: $30,000 cash from the National Portrait Gallery and $20,000 worth of Canon equipment thanks to Imaging Partner Canon Australia.  Other prizes include the Highly Commended which is supported by EIZO and an Art Handlers’ Award thanks to IAS Fine Art Logistics. Audiences will also be able to vote for their favourite in the People’s Choice Award.

The finalists for 2023 are: Adam Ferguson, Anne Moffat, Bahram Mia, Ben McNamara, Brenda L. Croft, Bruce Agnew, Cassandra Scott-Finn, Charlie Bliss, Charlie Ford, Cindy Kavanagh, David Cossini, David Darcy, Dylan Le’Mon, Elliot Brown, Emma Armstrong-Porter, Forough Yavari, Franca Turrin, Francis Cloake, The Huxleys, Gerwyn Davies, Grace Costa, Isabella Melody Moore, Jacob Nash, Heidi Margocsy, Jacqueline Mitelman, James Bugg, Jay Hynes, Jimmy Widders Hunt, Jo Duck, Julian Kingma, Lily Hatten, Martine Perret, Meng-Yu Yan, Nathan Dyer, Renae Saxby, Renato Colangelo, Rohan Thomson, Sammaneh Pourshafighi, Sarah Depta, Sarah Enticknap, Sean Slattery, Shannon May Powell, Shea Kirk, Stuart Miller, Tajette O’Halloran and Teva Cosic

The winner of the 2023 NPPP will be announced at the exhibition launch on 16 June by new Director of the National Portrait Gallery, Bree Pickering. Click here for more information.