The Ballarat International Foto Biennale has announced the finalists for this year’s major competitions, the Martin Kantor Portrait Prize and The Fineman New Photography Award.

This year more entries than ever before were submitted, with many exceptional and diverse entries. The following finalists were selected by judges Naomi Cass, Max Delany, Bill Henson and Fiona Sweet:  George Angelovski, Graeme Armstrong, Fiona Bowring, Su Cassiano, Anna Maria Antoinette D’Addario, Elise Derwin, Stephen Dupont, George Fetting, Julia Firak, Lisa Gipton, John Gollings, Naomi Hobson, Nicholas Hubicki, Penelope Hunt, Tammy Law, Kellie Leczinska, Mia Mala McDonald, Stuart Miller, Suzanne Phoenix, Eugenia Raskopoulos, Eva Schroeder, Russell Shakespeare, Laki Sideris, Sanjeev Singh, Tobias Titz, Linda Wachtel and Rudi Williams. All finalists will be exhibited as part of the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale.
Six finalists have been chosen for the second iteration of The Fineman New Photography Award, which is open to photographic artists working throughout the Asia-Pacific region. They are Pierfrancesco Celada (HKG), Michelle Chan (HKG), Aakriti Chandervanshi (IND), Liss Fenwick (AUS), JinQian Luo (CHN) and Moe Suzuki (JPN), who were nominated by judges Fayen D’Evie, Pippa Dickson, Gwen Lee, Eriko Noguchi, Miho Odaka, Jim Ramer, Shubigi Rao, Bala Starr, Alexander Supartono and Fiona Sweet.

Tickets for the 2021 Ballarat International Foto Biennale are on sale now. For the first time, tickets are available for a Day Pass or, for the complete experience, purchase a new 3-Day Pass for multiple entries to the Biennale’s core exhibitions in various venues during the festival. All Festival Passes include a single timed visit to the Linda McCartney: Retrospective at the Art Gallery of Ballarat. Click here for details.