Winners have been announced in the three categories of The Portrait Competition, in advance of The Portrait Conference held on 13 and 14 October 2018.

The Portrait Competition invited photography enthusiasts to provide online entries in a choice of three categories – Open, Amateur and Student – and have their work reviewed in a competitive environment by internationally acclaimed judges. The top 30 entrants will automatically qualify for The Print Competition which will be judged and announced on the final night of The Portrait Conference on 14 October 2018 at the Australian National Maritime Museum in Sydney.

The nine winners announced today are as follows:
Open Category:
1. Bruce Moyle
2. Steve Wise
3. Jo Howell.

Amateur Category:
1. Michelle Kennedy
2. Robin Young
3. Jillian Merlot

The first prize winners in these two categories will receive AU$10,000 in cash, with the second prize winners receiving a Nikon D850 camera and the third prize winners an Eizo CG2420 Monitor.

In the Student Category, the first prize of AU$2000 in cash goes to Meg Godfrey; the second prize of $100 in cash goes to Zac Kalivas and the third prize of $500 goes to Jemma Smith.

The triple-billed initiative has been created by Kayell Australia and will now be an annual event for all levels of portrait photography enthusiasts who will have the opportunity to have their work appraised in a competitive field. It will also provide the potential for participants to gain increased exposure for their images. Tickets are still available for the two-day event. Click here for more information.