Winners of the Australian and New Zealand section of the Sony Alpha Awards were announced in Sydney overnight.


Grand Prize Winner of the 2018 Sony Alpha Awards, Ilan Wittenberg (shot with an ILCEC7RM3 camera and SEL24105G lens).

This year’s contest attracted more than 5,000 entries submitted by both professional and amateur photographers. Winners across the seven categories were selected by by Sony Global Digital Imaging Ambassadors and professional Australian photographers, Craig Parry and Mark Galer. Each category winner receives $2,000 worth of Sony camera gear, and the Grand Prize Winner, Ilan Wittenberg, receives a once-in-a-lifetime trip to Tanzania with World Photo Adventures, plus $3,000 of Sony Alpha gear.

The category winners for the 2018 Sony Alpha Awards are as follows:

● Abstract: Jingshu Zhu  

● Editorial: David Sickerdick

● Landscape: Grant Galbraith

● Macro: Chris Cope

● Nature: Robyn Waterhouse

●  Portrait: Ilan Wittenberg   (Grand Prize Winner)

● Sport: Kian Bullock

The Youth competition saw an outstanding response across Australia and New Zealand, with two finalists chosen to go head to head in a Sydney photo challenge. Australia’s Digital Imaging Ambassador and Travel Photographer, Tyson Mayr chose the overall winner, 17 year old Keeley Watson from Auckland.