The Museum of Australian Photography will host the annual TOPshots exhibition celebrating the work of photomedia artists produced by students from leading Victorian colleges.

Untitled 2022  from the series ‘Outside in’ by Alice Donovan; pigment ink-jet print 47.4 x 34.0 cm courtesy of the artist and Loreto Mandeville Hall Toorak . © Alice Donovan.

The works come from students who have completed the Victorian Certificate of Education (VCE) subjects of Art, Media and Studio Arts, as well as the International Baccalaureate (IB) Visual Arts. The following students have been named as this year’s finalists:
Josh Chadwick | Marcellin College
Eve Delanty Gale | Star of the Sea College
Alice Donovan | Loreto Mandeville Hall Toorak
Grace Kennedy | Caulfield Grammar School
Greta Lawrence-Smith | Caulfield Grammar School
Serena Lee | Vermont Secondary College
Leigha Lehmann | Emmanuel College Warrnambool
Jonathan McKeree | Marcellin College
Silas Jakob Mitchell | Wesley College, St Kilda Road
Maggie Naughton | Loreto Mandeville Hall Toorak
Sequoia Pather | Swinburne Senior Secondary College
Annie-May Prosser | Padua College
Mia Quinn | St Michael’s Grammar School
Georgia Vander Vorm | Luther College

The winner of TOPshots 2022–23 will receive the Rosie Hughes Memorial Prize, sponsored by The Waverley Camera Club in memory of their late member Rosie Hughes. The award will be judged by Amos Gebhardt who was the recipient of the $30,000 William and Winifred Bowness Photography Prize for their work ‘Wallaby’ in 2022.

The exhibition will run from 19 April to 28 May, 2023, at the gallery at 860 Ferntree Gully Road, Wheelers Hill, Victoria, 3150. Phone (03) 8544 0500 for details.