Dean Lewins Staff Photographer at Australian Associated Press (AAP) has won the Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year award.

One of the winning images from Dean Lewins’ portfolio. (© Dean Lewins.)

Winners of this year’s Walkley Awards for Excellence in Journalism were announced in Brisbane on 22 November.

The highest honour, the Gold Walkley, went to The Australian’s investigative journalist, Hedley Thomas, and composer/producer, Slade Gibson, for a podcast titled The Teacher’s Pet, which explored the 1982 disappearance of Sydney mother Lyn Dawson.

Dean Lewins was named the Nikon-Walkley Press Photographer of the Year for a body of work spanning news and sport photography.

Other winners in the photography categories included:
Scott Barbour of Getty Images in the Sport Photography category for a collection titled “Sport 2017—2018”;
Jenny Evans of Getty Images and The Daily Telegraph in the News Photography category for “Life Saver”; and
Chris Hopkins of SBS Online Documentaries in the Feature/Photographic Essay category for “My Name is Yunus”.

For the first time, all the Walkley Award-winning stories will be amplified through a dedicated collection on Apple News.

Click here to view them on your iPhone or iPad.