anon/AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year Awards.


May 17,2005: Sydney-based architectural photographer, Brett Boardman, has been named as the winner of the 2005 Canon/AIPP Australian Professional Photographer of the Year Awards.
The winners were announced at the close of last weekend’s Photo Imaging World exhibition at Brisbane’s Convention and Exhibition Centre. The awards are open to all professional photographers in Australia. As the winning entries are judged by their peers, the awards represent the best of the best professional photography in Australia. Entries are also judged in sub-categories covering specialisations including: Advertising/Fashion, Editorial, Commercial/Industrial, Illustrative Personal Expression, Portrait, Wedding, Biomedical/Scientific and Digital photography. This year’s category winners were:
Marcus Bell – 2005 Australian Wedding Photographer of the Year;
Brett Boardman – 2005 Australian Commercial/Industrial Photographer of the Year;
Denis Montalbetti – 2005 Australian Advertising/Fashion Photographer of the Year;
Charmaine Heyer – 2005 Australian Illustrative Photographer of the Year;
Chris Barry – 2005 Australian Biomedical/Scientific Photographer of the Year;
Alex Cowley – 2005 Australian Landscape Photographer of the Year;
Damien Bredberg – 2005 Australian Editorial Photographer of the Year;
Peter Rossi – 2005 Australian Portrait Photographer of the Year.
As winner, Mr Boardman receives a Canon professional imaging kit valued at over $20,000, including a Canon EOS-1D Mark II, i9950 A3 Bubble Jet printer, EF 16-35mm f2.8 L, EF 24-70mm f2.8 L and EF 70-200mm f2.8 L IS lenses, EX580 Speedlite, STE2 Speedlite transmitter and consumables.
The 2005 Canon/AIPP Professional Photography Awards book will soon be produced featuring Mr Boardman’s photography and the Gold and Silver award winning entries from each category. The 2005 winning entries will also be showcased in a national touring exhibition, with tour details to be confirmed. Details will be available from the Australian Institute of Professional Photography at